Yoga girl

drawmybody7_wuafbaStraightness and light, these are the things that stand out for me in this image of her.

Three hours and God knows how much paper I’ve gone through – and still I see the imperfections in my rendition of her image.  The mind is relentless.  I am in awe of the light on her body.  The hollowness of her stomach; she is like me, striving for perfection.  It almost seems like she is trying too hard to be straight, I want to soften that intensity and probably my own at the same time.

The vertical position of her legs and torso and the way her arms are grounded to the earth remind me of why we are here.  We need to ground ourselves to our mother earth and lift ourselves up to the heavens.  We are the bridge, we are the tunnel through which darkness and light flow.  When we stand vertically and open ourselves to receive the light, by quieting our minds, then we can bring heaven to earth.

We so need to open ourselves to changing the way we live on this earth. It seems like often we recreate hell here instead of heaven. If we can open a place in our lives where we can get past  the judgments and control, then we can become part of the change needed. Thank God I for this simple tool that is drawing that quiets and slowly changes the way we see and eventually act in our world.

– Theresa

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

